Did you know that Synology advises us to activate an option called “Memory Compression“? According to their official guide: You can enable Memory Compression to improve general system responsiveness under load by compressing the least recently used data in memory. When you have multiple applications running and the memory begins to fill up, the dynamic … Read more about Synology: Should I Use Memory Compression?
Many people do not know that some Synology packages are already pre-installed and it is impossible to remove or uninstall them. Security Advisor and Storage Manager, for example. Let’s talk about Security Advisor. Many looking for this package do not find it. I must admit that, when I had my first Synology, I too had … Read more about Where Can I Find Security Advisor on Synology DSM/SRM?
Have you ever wondered why sometimes when you’re connected to your Synology through a Browser, be it Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge, the following error message appears followed by a disconnection? The message reads: Connection expired. Please login again. See the screenshot below. This can become a problem if we’re working and we leave the … Read more about Synology: Connection expired. Please login again.
Were you wondering how to disable the USB port on your Synology NAS through DSM? Deactivation via the DSM “operating system” is a solution that will not allow any Local users to mount any USB key. With these settings, no types of files can be transferred. There is also “physical” hardware deactivation of the USB … Read more about How to Disable USB Port in Synology DSM
Do you want to delete a folder in File Station, Volume 1, but can’t? You’re certainly wondering why that is, aren’t you? Following the instructions issued by Synology, it would appear it’s an easy thing to do, deleting a folder in File station, Volume 1. According to Synology instructions, we delete a folder by clicking … Read more about How to Delete Shared Folder on Synology