Synology X21 Series: What CPU Does It Have?

Synology X21 Series What CPU Does It Have

Now you can find out what CPU your X21 Series Synology NAS has. Discover what CPU model and type of RAM memory your X21 Series Synology NAS has in the table below. Hopefully this will make it easier for you when you search for your NAS CPU model.


ModelCPU ModelCoresThreadsFPUPackage ArchRAM
DS1821+AMD Ryzen V1500BQuad Core8YesV1000DDR4 ECC SODIMM 4GB
DS1621xs+Intel Xeon D-1527Quad Core8YesBroadwellnkDDR4 ECC SODIMM 8GB
DS1621+AMD Ryzen V1500BQuad Core8YesV1000DDR4 ECC SODIMM 4GB
DVA3221Intel Atom C3538Quad Core4YesDenvertonDDR4 Non-ECC SODIMM 8GB

What is a Core? A core, or CPU core, is the “brain” of a CPU. It receives instructions and performs calculations, or operations, to satisfy those instructions. A CPU can have multiple cores. A processor with two cores is called a dual-core processor. A processor with four cores is called a quad-core. A processor with six cores is a hexa-core. A processor with eight cores is an octa-core.
What are Threads? A thread is the virtual version of a CPU core. By using processes such as hyper-threading and simultaneous multithreading, you can break up a physical core into virtual cores called threads and this will increase your CPU performance. For the most part, Intel CPUs with two cores use hyper-threading to provide four threads, while AMD CPUs with four cores use simultaneous multithreading to provide eight threads.
What is FPU? A floating-point unit (FPU, colloquially a math coprocessor) is a part of a computer system specially designed to carry out operations on floating-point numbers. Typical operations are addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, and square root.

This post was updated on Thursday / December 17th, 2020 at 11:29 PM