Synology: How To Disable Current Admin Account

Synology How To Disable Current Admin Account

Although Synology users have been cautioned time and time again about this, many continue to connect to their NAS using the “admin” user. There is nothing more dangerous than having a basic username, the most basic really – this is vulnerability at its finest. Continuing to use the basic ‘admin’ username for your Synology credentials puts the security of your data, and your privacy, at risk. Fortunately creating a new username with administrative permissions is very easy and will mean you will be less exposed to potential security breaches and other risks. Follow this simple tutorial below to learn how to disable your current admin account and create a new user with admin privileges.

  • STEP 1

Please Support My work by Making a Donation.

  • STEP 2

To disable the current admin account first of all create a new user with administrator privileges in Control Panel / User & Group / Create.

Disable admin account on Synology NAS

  • STEP 3

After the new user with administrator privileges is created, select the old account “admin” then click the Edit tab.

Synology disable admin account step 3

  • STEP 4

After you click the Edit tab, a new window will open. Check ‘Disable this account’, check ‘Immediately’, then Save. Follow the instructions in the image below.

Disable admin account immediately Synology

Note: Learn How to Choose A Strong Password for your Synology NAS.

This post was updated on Monday / November 8th, 2021 at 11:28 PM