Synology: How to Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden

Synology How to Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden

Have you installed Bitwarden following my guide? One of the most important things you need to know about Bitwarden is that anyone who can access your HTTPS Bitwarden link can register for a new account by default. Follow my step by step guide below to disable registration of new users in Bitwarden.

  • STEP 1

Please Support My work by Making a Donation.

  • STEP 2

Open Docker package. On the left sidebar click Container and select your vaultwarden instance. Stop the Container then click the Edit tab. Follow the instructions in the image below.

Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden 1

  • STEP 3

After you click Edit on STEP 2 a new pop up window will open. Click on the Environment tab then Add. On the variable area type in SIGNUPS_ALLOWED and in the Value area type in false. Click Apply. Follow the instructions in the image below.

Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden 2

  • STEP 4

Start your Container. Follow the instructions in the image below.

Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden 3

Troubleshooting:

In some cases, after you add the new Environment variable SIGNUPS_ALLOWED=false the container will ask you to review the Port Settings. On the Local Port area type in 3012 and 5151 instead of Auto then click Apply. Follow the instructions in the image below.

Disable Registration of New Users in Bitwarden 4

Note: Even if you have added the variable SIGNUPS_ALLOWED and the value false, the Create Account button will still be shown in the Bitwarden user interface, but actually attempting to create an account will result in an error message. Bitwarden isn’t designed to allow disabling signups, so this can’t be worked around easily.

This post was updated on Monday / July 26th, 2021 at 2:20 AM