How to Fix Web Station on Synology Nas

How to Fix Web Station on Synology Nas

Hey folks! I have had some troubles in the past with the Web Station application on my Synology Nas device unit. It probably happened because I tried to set up another package and accidentally deleted a folder or a symlink. I could not access the websites created in: /volume1/web/
On the other hand, when I added the websites into /var/services/web/ they seemed to work, except that I ran into a few strange errors.

The default web station page did not load and phpMyAdmin did not have any images, thus the web page got rendered useless. Also, when I tried to install phpMyAdmin through the Package Center, sometimes the installer did not create the needed folder phpMyAdmin under the shared folder /volume1/web/. The problem seemed to be that I had removed the symlink from /volume1/web that should have pointed to /var/services/web/ The fix is easy when you finally realize what’s happening.

  1. Remove Web Station, Apache, phpMyAdmin.
  2. Remove the web folder from /var/services/web (don’t forget to backup your sites first) rm -R /var/services/web
  3. Remove the web folder from /volume1/web/ (don’t forget to backup your sites first) rm -R /volume1/web
  4. Install Web Station. This should recreate the web folder /volume1/web with the right permissions and add it to the shared folders.
  5. Link the /volume1/web to /var/services/web ln -s /volume1/web /var/services/web

At this point, you can move your sites back to /volume1/web and reinstall Apache 2.4 with the latest phpMyAdmin app.

If the installer does not create the needed folder phpMyAdmin under the folder /volume1/web/ follow only point 1 and point 3.

If you have problems with the Web Station application, remember to stop the application, uninstall the application and remove the shared folder called “web” which is automatically created with the installation of Web Station. Once the uninstall procedure has been completed, reinstall the Web Station application via the Package Center. During the entry process, remember to backup your Web shared folder, before deleting it.

paypal This article is free, but powered by your donations. Updated on